Upcoming Conferences!

prof2

I’m speaking at a few conferences coming up that I’m really looking forward to! Come by and say “hi” if you’re at these conferences!

The first one is the Digital Kids Edu Conference being held next Wednesday 9/18 at the Children’s Creativity Museum in San Francisco. Digital Kids Edu focuses on the “profound and rapidly changing innovations taking place in education through digital media”. I’m part of a panel about creativity and children. My fellow panelists are seriously awesome and I’m really looking forward to sharing some stories about the impact creativity in the classroom has on children and young people. The panelists joining me are: Izzy Neis (from Metaverse Mod Squad), Yuval Kaminka (from JoyTunes), Jacob Klein (from Motion Math), and Jessica Lindl (from Institute of Play). Hope to see you there!

The next conference is the Global STEMx Education Conference which is  being held on 9/19-21 at a computer near you. STEMxCon is the world’s first massively open online conference for educators focusing on Science, Technology, Engineering, Math, and more. The conference is being held over the course of three days, September 19-21, 2013, and is free to attend. What is the “x” in STEMx? I’m so glad you asked! The Science, Technology, Engineering, and Mathematics acronym is no longer adequate, as it is missing well over 20 letters that represent key skills & disciplines. As such, x = Computer Science (CS), Computational Thinking (CT), Inquiry (I), Creativity & Innovation (CI), Global Fluency (GF), Collaboration ( C ), …and other emerging disciplines & 21st century skills.

My session for STEMx will involve sharing some of the inspirational stories about creativity in the classroom that I’ve seen. Read more about my session here. I think it should be scheduled in the next day or so.

The third conference that is coming up is the 1st Annual California STEM Symposium being held at the Sacramento Convention Center on 11/18-19.  The STEM Symposium is going to be excellent– I mean the keynote speakers are Sugata Mitra and Geena Davis, Academy Award-winning actor and founder of the Geena Davis Institute on Gender in Media!

I will be doing a round table presentation with the inimitable Mike Skocko who is at the forefront of digital media education and gamification. We will be discussing creativity in STEM subjects. We hope to see you there!

The final conference I am presenting at is the Global Education Conference on 11/18-22. Global Ed Con brings thousands of educators together from around the world! I’m still working on my proposal but if you’re interested in international digital media competitions, you might be interested in the session I’ll be discussing!

One thought on “Upcoming Conferences!

Leave a Reply

